OFFLFIRSOCH 2024: foodscale.py

I finally finished and posted my entry for the OFFLFIRSOCH (the offline-first software challenge) 2024:

foodscale.py: A command-line utility to find the mass of a volume of food

I identified this as a task for which I always use the internet even though it’s not strictly necessary, and that would be pretty easy to program (I’m happy to report that it was).

Here’s solderpunk’s announcement explaining OFFLFIRSOCH 2024

And here’s a report rounding up the efforts that actually concluded in March

Sorry it’s late. The code only represents a couple hours of effort, but I missed the March deadline due to life and work, and then I kept putting it off forever because it was already late. I also hoped to find a new tilde home to host the repo now that retrace.club isn’t coming back, and got distracted by that quest, deciding ultimately to make a Codeberg account because it was free and easy.

Just ADHD things. To be frank, the fact that I actually wrapped this up and posted it represents some personal growth.

I explained the choice of Python a bit here

Yes, I’m aware that I’ve written “OFFLFIRSOCH” a few different ways in various places. Sorry about that.

I would love to hear if anyone else ever uses this to cook anything, and I suppose I want to hear if anyone finds bugs.

Home