I am a person in my neighborhood

I haven’t been writing much because I’ve been feeling a bit pessimistic about the future — whenever I stop and think about it. I’d rather contribute positive vibes to this part of the internet, which remains my favorite part (even when I’m not such an active participant).

At least I’ve put some seasonal cheer in my Astrobotany garden.

A happier reason I’m online a bit less is that I’m doing more things locally and in-person. Playing tabletop games with strangers and acquaintances, mostly, but “doing stuff with strangers” is really the best way to make friends. Especially when you move to a new place. It’s nice that people play at the game shop in my own neighborhood, a short bike ride from home.

I’m still getting to know more of my new neighbors. I’m probably done with “organizations” completely (though I’m hanging onto my Red Card), and if not, I’m certainly taking a long hiatus. Focusing on making myself part of the physical community of my neighborhood is a better expression of my politics than driving to some different neighborhood (with more young and hip people) to talk about anarchist books or whatever. Many of my neighbors have lovely gardens, and I think I could convince one or two of them to let me help with their vegetables. There will be ample opportunity to build relationships of mutual aid when my youngest enters school, too.

So I guess I’m not entirely pessimistic, I just feel that way when I shift my focus from “my life” (i.e., the things over which I have at least a little control) to “the world” (i.e., everything else). Isn’t it funny how that works?

Home